How’s everybody been doing with their New Year’s Resolutions? Still going strong after a week? Surprisingly, after posting my resolutions last week, I’ve been practicing balance a lot more than I thought I would. And let me tell you, it’s life-changing. I’ve been smiling more and overall feeling lighter and happier. I also let myself watch an episode of my favorite TV show last night. Usually, I coop myself up during the weekends and do homework since I think as a student I should only do work, work, work. However, I’m going to change that and live by the motto “Work hard, play hard.”

heart-health-foods.jpg

Anyways, I’m sure a vast majority of people (myself included) set goals for 2016 with something along the lines of health. Whether it was to lose weight, maintain weight, gain weight, or just practice clean and healthy living. Regardless of whatever health goal you picked for yourself, I wanted to list 10 unhealthy foods that are regarded by many as healthy. The huge food-industry is notorious for thier branding and packaging that make it seem as if their products are healthy, when they’re actually not. So let me do you a favor and list a few not-so-healthy foods.

 

*As a disclaimer, I know that people are addicted to some of these foods. Therefore, I won’t go all out and have people eliminate their consumption on these foods completely since that’s impossible. Instead, I recommend going one day a week without one and gradually building up.

diet-sodas.jpg

1.Diet drinks

I think this is pretty self-explanatory. As long as I’ve seen diet drinks, I’ve heard how bad they are compared to their “regular” version. The loads of artificial sweeteners triggers insulin and makes your body go into fat storage mode which in other words, means weight gain.

detoxjuices.jpg2. Detox Juices

These have been in the rage for so long and attributed to the weight loss success of Hollywood stars. First, detox juices have no protein which is a problem since people need a daily supply of protein to build healthy immune cells. In addition, because the fruits and vegetables are all juiced, there is no fiber left. Fiber helps people feel full and satisfied. With no fiber, your body is going to be crying out loud for you to eat. However, if you’re on a detox cleanse, you can’t eat food or a lot of it, so you’re body is going to go in starvation mode and hold in all that weight you want to lose.

The list goes on for the detriments of detox juices, so if you want to read more, check out this link.

chicken salad.jpg

3. Chicken/Tuna salads

I know, I know, this is my weak point too. I love chicken salad and tuna salad but we all know why it tastes so good: mayonnaise. And mayonnaise should be regarded as our enemy than friend, because it is pretty much artery clogging saturated fat. Instead of conveniently scooping up that chicken or tuna salad when you’re making your sandwich, take a few seconds and put slices of chicken, turkey, ham or tuna.

driedfruit.jpg

4. Dried fruit

Eating those chewy and gooey fruit snacks aren’t that good for your body. These dried fruit are double or sometimes even triple the amount of sugar in fresh fruit. Even eating candy is better off than eating dried fruit in terms of sugar content.

couscous.jpg

5. Couscous

Couscous is actually not a grain and lacks the nutritional benefits of whole grains. It’s a refined grain and the same as white pasta.

energy_bars-.jpg

6.Energy bars

No matter how healthy they may be, it’s better to reach for a banana or apple than an apple. Some energy bars have the same saturated fat content and sugar content as candy bars. Yes, I know they are convenient especially in our busy, on-the-go lives, but try holding back on stashing them in your bag just because you think they’re healthy (which they’re not).

granola.jpg

7. Granola

As long as I can remember, the word “granola” just sounded healthy, you know? However, these crunchy oat thingys are filled with a lot of sugar. So much sugar in fact that some have more sugar than regular breakfast cereals.

instantoatmeal.jpg

8. Instant Oats

This actually came off as a huge surprise to me. I actually eat instant oats almost every morning. Because I’m away from home, I don’t have the luxury of cooking rolled oats, but have to stick with instant oats and hot water. The packages come with loads of added sugar, salt, and artificial coloring. Read: not good stuff.

miltonsmultigrain.jpg

9. Multi-grain anything

This again, is an example of how clever the food industry is. Multi-grain as the name suggests, means that a food has more than one type of grain. However, these multiple grains are most of the time not whole grains but refined grains. So using multi-grain packages, the food industry is fooling people to eat a whole bunch of refined grains.

Western_Sushi.jpg

10. Sushi

Of course, it’s healthy in moderation, however because the Japanese diet has been publicized as one of the healthiest diets in the word, people devour sushi like it’s no one’s business. People tend to eat a lot of sushi in order to feel full, but in order to reach this level of fullness, a lot of sushi has to be consumed. And this means a lot of carbs and very few veggies.

 

Hope this wasn’t too much of a shocker to you! What other foods do you know that are reputed to be healthy but actually aren’t?

 

xoxo,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

