So it’s that time of the year, or close to at least. Serena and I attend a school who runs on a trimester schedule (like as two finals isn’t enough), so we have our winter term final right before spring break. With that in mind, this post could either be the perfect timing if your school runs on a trimester schedule too, or a post too early if your school runs on a semester schedule (which I am awfully missing and jealous about). Regardless of which schedule your school runs on, here are my tips on how to survive finals in regards to health. Being that this is a health blog and NOT a study blog, I won’t be going into how to maintain self-control, avoid procrastination, and etc, and also because I’m procrastinating by writing this post, so I can’t talk about self-control.

Anywho, here are my top 3 tips!

 

  1. Go easy on the caffeine, chug down the water | During finals week, I see the recycle bins in our schools filled with Starbucks latte and coffee cups. Please … do me and your body a favor, and go easy on the caffeine. I don’t think it’s necessary to go into details of why coffee is bad for you. Nobody goes around boasting to themselves that they’ve drank two cups of coffee. (If you still aren’t sure, here’s a link from Mayo Clinic). Water is a HUGE part of your body and your body is one of the most energy expensive organs in your body. Add the two and two together, and you realize that your brain needs water to function properly.

 

  1. Exercise | Now, I know this may seem contradictory where I should be telling you guys to sit and study instead of exercise. However, just go out and be active for 30 minutes. I see so many of my friends going to the library right after their finals claiming that they are “studying for the final tomorrow.” However, I see them just binge watching on their TV shows or not completely focused because their brains are exhausted. Instead, I go for an easy jog or hop on the bike for 30 minutes to release stress and clear my brain. I can truly attest to this, but after I exercise, I am a lot more focused when I study. (Also, it’s been touted that exercise improves brain function, specifically brain memory as this Harvard study states)

 

  1. Sleep well, eat well. | As students, sleep is a commodity. However, out of experience, we all know that sleep can make it or break it. Instead of pulling an all-nighter, shut your books and make sure you get at least 8 hours of sleep. Also, make sure you eat well. I know with finals season everybody is in zombie mode where people study, sleep, eat with their pajamas or something of the like. With your body extremely tired and you looking and feeling sloppy, it’s easy to have lunch for pizza, eat a tub of ice cream just for the heck of it (but partly due to stress)  and just eat a whole ton of junk food. Instead, stick to foods high in fiber – like oatmeal for breakfast, so you can have constant energy while taking your finals or while studying for them.

 

What are your tips and tricks for finals?

xoxo,

Stephanie

One thought on “How to Survive Finals

Leave a Reply

