I finally made a birthday cake from scratch. Its a green tea cake with green tea cream cheese frosting. Plus, it has strawberries on top. What’s not to like? 🙂

IMG_2529

For the green tea cake, I followed this recipe. I baked the cake in a rectangular pan, and then cut out two hearts using a stencil. Then, I made frosting mixing an 8oz. pack of cream cheese, 2 tablespoons of butter, 3/4 cup powdered sugar, and one teaspoon matcha powder. Frosting the cake was quite tricky because bits of cake would crumble when I spread a thin layer, so I had to use a lot of frosting. I decided to put strawberries on top because the cake looked quite bare.

IMG_2532

It was so yummy! The matcha flavor really came through, not to mention the green color was very pretty. My only concern was that the cake itself was a bit dry, maybe because I cut the hearts out immediately after they came out of the oven.

Since Easter is coming up, I might bake another cake! Let me know what kind of cake I should bake in the comments 🙂

Love,

Serena

2 thoughts on “Matcha Heart Cake

Leave a Reply

