In my Avolicious Summer Fitness plan I posted a few days ago, I mentioned that because I am a runner, I don’t really have an all inclusive workout or training plan for everyone. However, I thought it might be a good idea to share the workouts I did since then, just to give you a sense.

Obviously, this isn’t me telling you to follow what I’m doing. Everybody has different circumstances and different skill levels, that one workout will not and should not fit the bill for anyone. My workouts will be heavily geared towards distance runners, but at the same time, I am an “intermediate” runner, so for those hard-core runners out there, this might be too little, while for runners who have just started, this might be too much. I’ll have a separate post for runners next week.

However, for those non-runners out there, don’t worry! This post is dedicated for you guys. I have on the second half of this post my recommendation. Note: the word “recommendation.” I personally haven’t done these workouts in this schedule and order so use your own discretion. Make sure to listen to your body and stop when you need to stop. Around Saturday of last week, my calves hurt whenever I walked, so I took an easier run that day. I’ll mention this again, but whatever you’re doing, if you’re enjoying it and you’re breaking out a sweat, that’s all you need.

For reference, I’m a teenage girl around 5’5’’ who isn’t the skinniest or fattest, but would definitely say I have so more skin than I would like (Freshman 15 anyone???). I did run distance track in the winter, however, after having a hiatus with running due to crew, I’ve been having a bit of struggle on getting back to my usual mile splits. Thus, I’ve been working slowly up to my splits from winter track.

With all that being said, here are the workouts I did from Thursday, June 2nd to Saturday, June 4th. I have no time to workout on Sunday and Monday because I’ll be on a 14 hour flight to Korea. However, I’ll upload a blog post soon about how to travel healthy while still enjoy the trip.

Thursday, June 2nd | 4.5 mile run + 250x jump ropes

Friday, June 3rd | 6 mile run – just a quick note: after this long run, my calves hurt for the rest of the day and throughout Saturday morning. So instead of ignoring that and wanting to run longer, I decided to take it easier on Saturday

Saturday, June 4th | 30 minute run + 10 minute ab workout (same one from the winter)
—–

General Workouts for Non-Runners  (recommendation)| I know that a lot of people have a designated day – i.e. arm day, leg day, back day, butt day – so I’ll lay out the schedule similarly. Again, I haven’t personally done these workouts in this schedule, but have just done the workouts themselves. So if it’s too hard for you to do these workouts in this schedule and order, tailor it to your skill base. REMEMBER: this is just a rough plan.

 

MONDAY AB DAY |

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 2.50.02 PM.png

 

TUESDAY LEG DAY | choose one of out these; maybe switch it up every week!

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 2.51.10 PM.png

 

WEDNESDAY ARM DAY |

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 2.51.42 PM.png

 

THURSDAY CARDIO DAY |

  • 30 minutes of some form of cardio (jump rope, jogging, elliptical, bike)

 

FRIDAY BUTT DAY |

SATURDAY CHOOSE WHATEVER YOU WANT DAY |

  • The only rule: make sure your workout is AT LEAST 30 minutes

 

SUNDAY REST DAY | **hands-up emoji sign

 

Are you up for the challenge? Tell me what you think!

xoxo,

Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

