“Masshittda” is a word that I have said times too many to count this past month while traveling to Korea. If you haven’t guessed already, the word “Masshitda” (맛있다) means “It’s delicious” in Korean.

I just want to point out, traveling means getting the opportunity to try lots of new (and delicious) food by sacrificing your healthy eating habits once in awhile.

Sorry for the long introduction; I promise this is the last part of the intro. For this trip, I took pictures of the meals that were interesting instead of documenting every single one. However, even though I took out some meals, there are still a lot (read: picture overload). So for your sanity as a reader, I’m going to break this trip up into two posts where each post covers 11 days.

Image-1.jpg

With all that being said, the start of my trip started with airplane food (cue in the groans and anxiety). Airplane food for me is the worst. You seriously don’t know where it’s from and it just tastes funny, you know? But I do appreciate Korean Airline’s dedication to provide the best food they can. My family has been flying Korean Airline ever since I was six months old, and we never really had a problem with their meals.

Here are one of the meals I had called “Bibimbap” – a mixed vegetable and rice dish with red bean paste on top:

Image-2.jpg

After mixing all the ingredients in:

Image-3.jpg

 

Since it was a 14-hour flight, there were two meals. One which included a very early breakfast where I chose to eat omelette:

Image-4.jpg

 

Complimentary guava juice…is that even a question? (the only time I drink something other than water)

Image-5.jpg

Once we landed in Korea (after a gruesome fourteen hours where my butt ached from sitting down so long), we (whenever I refer to “we”, I mean my family) had a four hour transfer at incheon airport. After having a quick shower at the Korean Airline lounge, I grabbed plain yogurt from the lounge food bar.

Image-6.jpg

^this is an example of plain yogurt in Korea. This is especially for Serena since she asked me once if there’s yogurt in Korea. Obviously there is.

Next we had a three and half hour flight to Manila. A little background story here. We used to live in the Philippines for four years when I was very little (3-7 years old). As an end of the school year treat, I picked Manila as our mini trip before our actual annual trip to Korea.

So with this trip being designated for nostalgia and all, as soon as we checked in the hotel, we looked for our FAVORITE Italian restaurant, L’opera. We had mushroom risotto, some kind of pasta I forget what, and a zucchini and eggplant pizza. It was an extremely carby lunch, but oh so worth it.

Image-7Image-8

(Restaurant: L’Opera in Fort Bonifacio)

After walking around the city in order to burn the calories we just ate, my family and I walked for about two and half hours. I seriously think we walked at least five miles. Talk about serious healthy and active travel.

Anyways, at the end of our adventure, we found our way at the market (whadya expect? My family is comprised of foodies so of course we go to the market). While there, my mom and I went on a quest to find durian and some mangoes (like promised in the previous post). Here’s what a typical fruit stall looks like:

Image-9

@ Market, Market! in Fort Bonifacio

After checking into our hotel, my mom and I couldn’t wait to try the durian. We had to save the mango for the next day because it wasn’t ripe enough.

Image-10

^this is a half of what we bought. My mom and I were initially thinking of eating this today and the other tomorrow. But nope. We ate the whole thing in one sitting – do you see the durian seed from the first half on the far right??

Another confession time. I didn’t like durian before. My mom is a self-confessed durian lover so she would always bring durian into the house. My dad got away with it being the adult he is and never was forced to eat it. I, on the other hand, was forced to. However, I wanted to give durian another chance. And guess what? I loved it. It’s so sweet – a much different sweet than avocado – and so creamy. I loved it so much I regretted the days when it was so available to me yet I didn’t eat it.

After another day in the Philippines, my family boarded the plane to head back to Korea. We were welcomed with a small but heartfelt meal from my whehalmoni (maternal grandmother in Korean)

Image-11

 

The following pictures are in random order. I honestly don’t know where and when I’ve eaten them, all I know is that they’ve been in my stomach :).

Image-12

Injulmi and black sesame bingsoo – don’t they look divine?

(Restaurant: 설빙; Sulbing)

 

Bad Farmers – took some time to locate this place with only a few directions and no wifi, but it was so worth it!

Image-13

^this is the Avo Cobb salad (I obviously got the avocado salad…)and the beet hummus open face sandwich with acorn squash soup. (One thing off the bucket list!)

Image-14

^the lighting isn’t the best, but here are the salads they have. I’m hoping that I can recreate some of these at home.

That’s going to be the end of the first leg of my trip to Korea. Keep posted for next week’s post for the last 11 days! Believe it or not, the meals during the last 11 days are even more “masshittda”!

 

Have you ever been to Korea before? Or have you travelled to another tasty city?

xoxo, Stephanie

 

2 thoughts on ““Masshittda”

Leave a Reply

