This week has been a bit more low-key but nevertheless crazy week. I’m heading back to boarding school next Saturday so our family is in get ready mode (read: creating lists of what we need to buy, but not really going out and getting those things … does anybody else do that?).

The weather’s been also a lot nicer here in D.C. – my morning runs have significantly become a lot more tolerable.

Anyway, this is what I’ve been obsessed with this week (check out last week’s if you haven’t already!):

 

ONE// Lunch dates with my family

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Summer roll @ Sushi Taro

Being that I’m leaving for school in a week, I’ve been trying to relish and take advantage of every opportunity I can in spending time with my family. While during middle school, I wanted to get out of the house and spend minimal time hearing their nagging and nitpicking, after being 300 miles away from them, I just miss everything about my family – even their nitpicking and anger tantrums.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Quinoa + mushroom salad and penne bolognese @ Nordstrom Cafe

Therefore, I went to Nordstrom Cafe with my mom the other day because it’s one of our favorite places (super convenient when we’re shopping and need of a pick-me-up). My mom went to the Cafe a few days before with her friends and said she tried a new salad in the Chef’s Special menu and that I NEEDED to try it out. So we did and boy, was it amazing. The mushrooms in the salad are crispy (almost like a kale chip) but has that salty kick of the mushroom … LOVE. We also ordered our perennial favorite the penne bolognese.

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Salmon & Avocado roll and Chirashi @ Sushi Taro

And just yesterday, my whole family went to our (or really my) favorite sushi place in DC called Sushi Taro. It was DC Restaurant Week so instead of getting my regular Chirashi order, I ate the lunch special. My mom ordered the lunch special as well, while my dad, another creature of habit (I guess like father, like daughter) ordered Chirashi. Let me tell you, my stomach was on cloud nine that day.

 

TWO// Indulgences (without feeling guilty)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

While my past “health nut” self would gasp and shudder at the sight of my eating “naughty” things, these days, I’ve loosened the grip up when I realized I needed to nourish not only my body but my emotions which includes giving into some indulgences once in awhile.

I’ve had this week: a slice of pizza, a cracker/biscuit sort of thing (pictured above), mochi ice cream, and went out for dinner at a Chinese restaurant. May not seem much, but for a rigid health nut like me, it is.

 

THREE// Workout Playlist

While the weather has been cooperating and I did mention last week that I’ve been loving my morning runs, I have to say, I don’t think I could have done it without my workout playlist.

Now, my taste in a music is mediocre so please don’t judge, however, for me, I am OBSESSED with it (and that’s what counts right?). The only motivation I have when my alarm rings at 6:20 is to listen to my jams.

 

FOUR// Healthy lunches on-the-go

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Salad w/ balsamic glaze on the side after volunteering at hospital

This summer has been pretty busy with volunteering, math tutors, viola lessons, golf lessons and practices, running and also catching up with friends from back home. So sometimes, I have to eat my lunches or even dinners in the car.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Salad and noodles and watermelon (dinner) whilst going to golf practice

While this may mean doing “to-go” at fast food restaurants for some, for me, my super super sweet mom packs them for me. They’re exactly what I would eat at home, except all in my mom’s neat Tupperwares. And these are all easy enough to make that I don’t necessarily need my mom to make them, but being at home from school I do take advantage of having my mom around.

 

How was this week for y’all?

 

xoxo,

Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

