“Make your own” California Roll Recipe

“Make your own” California Roll Recipe

Writing this post currently back at school brings back such sweet memories. This was my last dinner(s) before I left for school last Saturday.  And I say dinners with a “s” because the last three nights I ate this and EACH TIME GOT EXCITED FOR IT.

For me, healthy eating is always delicious, always filling, always colorful, and of course, always nutrient dense. And this recipe is all of those. It’s actually fairly simple, but the prep work does take some time. However, if you do it in a big batch one day, then you can go off of that batch for a couple of days like my family did!

For those lovers of sushi, avocado, smoked salmon, or meals where you mix things in (like burritos, bibimbap), this recipe is JUST for you.

“Make your own” California Roll Recipe (serves 3 HUGE appetites)

Ingredients:

    • Rice (brown rice preferred!)
    • Nori (the large seaweed sheets WITHOUT any oil or salt)
    • Avocados (I believe we used about four – but the number is completely up to you!)
    • Smoked Salmon (My family personally loves the Duck Trap brand in the huge size that is sold at Whole Foods!)
    • Carrots
    • Cucumbers
    • Eggs (as many as you want, but I believe we used 8 eggs to make a huge “omelette” and we still had leftovers after having it for 3 dinners)

 

  • Optional:

 

    • Burdock (We Koreans have a side dish made out of this. It’s really good, but it’s definitely not necessary for this recipe.)
    • Dan Moo Ji (picked daikon radish – another Korean that is completely optional, just adds a little kick like a pickle)

 

Directions:

  • Wash your avocado, cucumber (and dan moo ji) and cut them into thin slices
  • Lightly saute your carrot with some olive oil and after done and cooled, cut them in thin slices
  • Make an “omelette” by only adding eggs into the pan and after done and cooled, cut them in thin slices

 

The finished product for these three directions should like this

File_002.jpeg

  • Have your stove on a low setting and lightly toast your nori to make them more stiff but not super crunchy like a chip.
  • Afterwards, cut your nori sheets up into small pieces
File_001.jpeg
This is one of our three dinners. Do you see how small the nori sheets are?

 

Now onto the fun part!

  • Lay one of the small nori piece on your plate
  • Add your rice as a base layer and add all the ingredients in

File_000 (1).jpeg

 

Enjoy!

 

What do you like in your sushi rolls?

xoxo,

Stephanie

 

 

3 thoughts on ““Make your own” California Roll Recipe

  1. I like the idea of making these as you eat them. The best way to learn what flavours go together is if you are continuously tasting your food!

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is WORK DAY EATING which includes any recipe or food experience suitable for the work day such as lunch, snacks or easy meals.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thanks for the kind compliment! I definitely agree with you that only experience can make you the best food connoisseur! I am a creature of habit so I rely on my favorites, but being in a college dining hall setting has definitely pushed me to taste new things out and I have to say that it has turned for the better! I’ll submit my link – I can’t wait to discover other recipes there!
      Xo,
      Stephanie

      Like

Leave a comment