It’s been a tradition now that after every break, I do a post about what I ate over break. While some other blogs talk about what people did, my break (and my life actually…) is defined by the food I eat.

Of course as you usual, there will be a food overload!

For the first four days of winter break, I drove up to NYC with a couple of close friends to celebrate Serena’s birthday! We hung around the city for a while and then had dinner at Hangawi, a Korean vegetarian restaurant.

The restaurant was darkly lit and you had to take off your shoes to get in. There was a deep pit that you put your legs underneath the table. The atmosphere of the restaurant and the service was great!

img_4448
LOL…my friends in the bottom of the picture leaning over so they don’t get in the picture.

img_4449

The foods were vegetarian so it was mostly bibimbap or any bowl with mixed ingredients. My friends ordered the hot-pot bibimbap while I ordered the gluten-free zen noodles. They were sooo good!

 

After the dinner, we went to a Korean bakery and had a walnut banana butter bread (or something like that – I feel like these days, restaurants put so many names to ONE thing..)

img_4457

After that night, my parents, who drove up to NYC, and I spent two more days in NYC. The next night, my parents took me out to a celebratory dinner for completing turkey term (the term in between Thanksgiving and winter break) successfully. We went to a Korean restaurant (of course) called Gaonnuri.  The special thing about it was that it’s on the 39th floor so you could see all of NYC while eating Korean food. Can anything beat that?

The restaurant was a lot more modern than Hangawi, but nevertheless, a great environment to eat it.

It was so nice to be sitting at the restaurant, with winter break just starting, with my parents, and outside of the freezing cold (I think those days, like December 15-18th were one of the COLDEST and WINDIEST days I’ve ever experienced!)

My family ordered a pajeon (a vegetable pancake), my mom ordered bibimbap, I ordered galbi-gim, and my dad ordered some combination of fish and soup. But they were delicious! It was so nice to have two nights in a row eating Korean food after three weeks away from it!

The galbi-gim (left) was so good that I was commenting about its texture, richness, and flavor upon every bite. My parents got so annoyed that my mom promised me she would make her famous galbi-gim when we got back home.

We also had dessert. It was a combination of three ice cream flavors: black sesame, green tea, and caramel. They were oh. my. goodness. This was a whole new level of ice cream. Apparently, the head chef at this restaurant makes the ice cream from scratch. But either way, the ice cream was insanely delicious. My parents and I licked that dessert plate clean despite the cold weather outside.

Who wouldn’t want to eat delicious Korean food while observing the NYC skyline? Look at that view..

img_4486

After a couple of days in NYC, my family drove back home. Of course, by home, that means California roll (aren’t you guys sick of my obsession for make-your-own California roll? I’ve probably featured it in every one of my what I eat in a day over break posts.

img_4563
I mean so much goodness in my meal…ya know?

I also followed my dad to work before the Christmas season. I have a hard time working at home since my mom and I talk a lot to each other and we always have fun impromptu plans to go outside. Thus, I went to work with my dad for a couple of days just to get some work done. But let me tell you, this might have been one of my best decisions as his workplace has the BEST salad bar.

And then one more…because on the 23rd (the last day I went to my dad’s work) it was a half day, so my dad (and I) could technically have left and eat lunch at home. However, I wanted to make as much use for the salad bar so I got a to-go.

img_4559

My family also ate out a bit. We’ve been going to a peking duck place. I’ve never really LOVED LOVED this place, but for some reason, after I left for home, I started craving eating at this place. So we go every time and every time, I leave the restaurant full and satisfied. No other better feeling, right?

img_4654
Sorry about those hands at the top of the picture.

My family and I also met up with Serena’s family. It was a great way to catch up and rewind WITHOUT having the stress of school. I got a vegetarian meal. It was a cauliflower steak with I believe dahl (tell me if this is wrong) and some greens on the side.

img_4692

My mom also cooked some of my favorite Korean side dishes. I loved the side dishes so much the table looked like (aka had the same food) this for a solid three days.

img_4704And last but not least, on my last day home, my mom and I went out for a lunch-date at Le Pain Quotiden. It was sad (as it was my last day) but also great (because I had such a fun time with my mom).

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Exact same picture from our instagram (@avolicious_blog)

So that sums up my break! Hope you enjoyed getting a sneak peak at my eating habits!

What did you eat over the holiday season?

xoxo,

Stephanie

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Over Winter Break

  1. I’m a bit late to this post- but YES! My whole break is defined by what I eat too haha, so this kinda recap post is what I’m talking about 😉 And you are SPOT on with the many names on one item now-a-days! I think they think if they put enough words there, then one of them will jump out at the customer hahah. All that Korean food looked amazing. It seemed super authentic too (wait.. like I would know?). Ahhhh I have got to get to Le Pain. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it. YUM! It all looks so fantastic. Thanks for sharing the yummys with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, don’t worry I don’t think I’m someone to judge whether a Korean restaurant is authentic or not since I’m basing it on my mom’s cooking which I don’t know is technically authentic, haha. Yes! Le Pain Quotiden is amazing and it actually means our daily bread in French! Have a great weekend! Xo stephanie

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post Stephanie! Great looking food!! I love bibimbap but I haven’t tried it in NYC yet. Which one of the two restaurants would you recommend? Or are both worth it to go to? I go there fairly often. Enjoy your weekend! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would say go to hangawi if you want a more authentic and traditional feel along with a more hearty meal. I think gaonnuri is very similar to other Korean restaurants – it’s more about the aesthetic than the taste. However the view from gaonnuri is unbelievable! So either one you go to I think will be a great choice! Thanks for the love and have a great weekend! Xo, stephanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

