“Oh, that food is really healthy and good for you.”

“That food is really bad and fattening, don’t eat that if you don’t want to be fat.”

File_000 (1).jpeg
Having white rice … oh no!

I’m sure we’ve either heard something similar to this or we’ve thought them ourselves.

Today, I want to talk about on no longer moralizing your food choices.

It’s so easy when we’re at the grocery store with the labels and packaging to identity what is “healthy” and what is not. In the past, anything that was fat-free was “healthy” (despite the fact that the substitute for fat that companies used are processed and the best either), later this turned into “carb-free” or “low-carb” (and this trend still lives in as carbs are thought to be the devil and turned against to) and now, it seems like the trend is “protein-everything.”

However, I’m here to tell you that our kale salads, avocado toasts, green smoothies are not healthy, but as a Washington Post article puts it, they are nutritious.

As someone who’s lost a significant amount of weight by running track while limiting myself to 1,200 Calories, I know that at the time, I justified my low calorie consumption because everything I was eating was “healthy.” I didn’t eat any sweets, cakes, “fattening” foods, I just ate a lot of greens, and heaven forbid, a carb ONE meal a day. I thought healthy = slim. But it’s not.

After losing 20 lbs. in a course of three months, my parents, my friends, the parents of my friends, and people I barely knew were asking me if I was sick. While I thought I looked great at slimmer, they obviously saw the truth. My face did not look as radiant and glowing, my hair was falling out, my hands and feet were always cold despite the fact that it was summer. However, none of these were my apparent then when I went to get my yearly checkup. My doctor advised me to take a blood test to see if all the nutrients I needed were there. When the results came back, I was lacking in a lot of nutrients.

As I looked at those results, I realized that my 1,200 Calories diet with no sweets, no processed foods, no fattening foods was not healthy.

I think Merriam-Webster’s definition(s) are perfect.

Screen Shot 2017-01-17 at 7.09.28 AM.png

No where in the definition does it talk about diet. It does not talk about how many greens you should be eating a day. It simply says that we are free from disease or pain and that healthy things are beneficial to one’s physical, mental, or emotional state.

I think that part is key. While losing weight, yes, physically I may have looked great, I was not physically well as apparent by the blood test results. I was not mentally nor emotionally sound either. Food dictated my life and I was exceedingly insecure about my body and my food choices. I was a good or bad person depending on how much food I ate and if my foods were good or bad.

So I’m here to STOP. Being healthy, having a lifestyle that is beneficial to your physical, mental, or emotional state can still mean that you can have processed foods, can have your McDonalds, have your sweets, as long as they are for your well-being.

If you balance your “good” foods and “bad” foods and balance your exercise frequency while at the same time, taking the time to meditate and check in with your soul (I do this by journaling), choose the middle and you’ll be “healthy.”

No longer is a food healthy or unhealthy by its appearance and nutrient content. A food is unhealthy or healthy according to how it can benefit your physical, emotional and mental state. If you’re craving that food and crush that craving, and do that multiple times, that’s not great for your mental state. If you keep on comparing your body to someone else’s and go on an extreme diet, that’s bad for your physically and mentally.

So stop moralizing your food choices. Eat what you want, when you want them, in moderation. As simply as that.

Are you a victim of moralizing food?

xoxo,

Stephanie

 

 

8 thoughts on “Stop Moralizing Your Food Choices

  1. I love this! I have made myself crazy trying to lose weight with deprivation (of various foods, low calorie counts, etc), and it never worked. One day, it just clicked for me: eat what I want when I’m hungry, listen to my body, don’t shame myself. I slowly lost 65 pounds over the course of 18 months a few years ago and I didn’t count calories once. I’ve kept off all the weight. I documented it all in this post:

    https://e2bakesbrooklyn.com/2016/08/25/why-so-skinny-on-weight-eating-habits/

    Thank you for your story and insight! -Liz

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Congrats! I can’t wait to read it on the blog. I’m so glad you were able to realize for yourself since some people despite all the warnings and concerns from their friends and loved ones are stubborn I continue to deprive themselves. I think I would have continued to deprive myself with 1,200 calories if my mom didn’t stop me. Thanks for stopping by! Xo, Stephanie

      Like

  2. This is really, really, REALLY good, Stephanie. Thanks for sharing your story with us too.. I’m sure tons of us can relate. I know I do. It’s so true- life is more than just making sure that everything is healthy and focusing on food…. if we are so focused on being healthy so we can live the fullest life we are still not living because our thoughts are consumed and distracted by attaining that health. All about the balance of health in all areas: physical, spiritual, emotional…. and giving ourselves grace along the way. You articulated this so well. Thank you again for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww I’m glad you liked the post and that it resonated with you. I’m always wary of how approach these topics and not all my experience can be applied to all. But yes moderation and balance is key. Thanks for all the love and support Mack!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww of course, darlin’. I totally understand about being hesitant. I never discuss much on my blog about this type of thing, but trust me I can relate.. maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to open the conversation there and be vulnerable with my own story. But I so appreciate your encouragement and healthy perspective projected here! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

