Okay, I’m not one to gush about someone/something, but for my friend Serena (the one who runs the other half of the blog), I think I need to make an exception.

Long story short, Serena and I met over our obsession for healthy foods. As freshmen in boarding school, we as well as the rest of our grade were thrust into a world away from home and with completely new people. Serena and I were the only ones at the table for breakfast, lunch, and dinner who had “healthy” foods. We consistently had salads, greens, fruits, and unprocessed and clean foods on our plates every day and every meal.

So of course, as foodies, we bonded and I consider Serena one of my closest friends. And at this time, it’s even truer.

img_3096

Lately, I’ve been falling off on this healthy band wagon lately. Call it stress eating, but the meals I’ve been eating not Stephanie. A few weeks ago, over the span of two days, I ate 5 slices of pizza. Now, granted, these 5 slices of pizza were eaten because or else, I wouldn’t be able to eat anything. Being away from home in a boarding school makes it hard to eat when I have club meetings or other events during dinner time. 

But this could have been fixed and modified. The freshmen Stephanie would not have succumbed to these things. But as the lazy sophomore I’ve embarrassingly become, I’ve started slacking off. 

I’ve been eating fried foods. I’ve been eating processed junk foods. I’ve been eating whole bagels every morning. And the worst thing is, it has had a negative effect on my energy levels, my mood, my skin, and my digestion. I’ve been bloating a lot more, I’ve been getting gas in my stomach more, and my stomach feels undigested when I’m studying in the night and I’ve been gulping down water because the food was too salty. 

But even when I lost hope in myself and my worth and my capability to eat healthy again, Serena believed in me. Serena encouraged me and supported me to eat healthy again. She wasn’t aggressive or gave me feel inferiority or made me guilt trip myself. Instead, she gently encouraged me. It’s hard to describe, but just ugh, she’s the best. 

So go find yourself a friend like Serena. Or better yet, be that friend who is Serena. That makes you want to be healthy. That makes you motivated to be healthy and back on track when you’ve desperately and obviously gone off track. 

Thank you Serena and I love ya!

Do you have a “Serena” in your life?

Xoxo,

Stephanie 

Leave a Reply

