I’ve been home for spring break for five days now, but these five days have been jam-packed with good food (that’s always the highlight of coming back home ūüėČ ).

So I decided to share some of the food I’ve been eating in the beginning of break in the “Lately Obsessed” format.

Ready for a picture overload? Let’s go!

ONE // Lunch dates with my mom @ Nordstrom Cafe

Nordstrom Cafe isn’t anything special, but my mom and I have been going there for lunch ever since I was in 3rd grade, so it’s pretty much a staple in our books. Whether it’s lunch after I get let out of break, after a play, after field day, after finals, after a long and tiring shopping trip, my mom and I love to eat at Nordstrom Cafe. There are perennial favorites such as the penne pasta or the vegetable panini. They had a few months ago a kale and mushroom salad special and it was so good! Please bring it back!

This time around (we literally went to Nordstrom Cafe the first full day back home haha), we got the penne pasta but we decided to order the prosciutto arugula salad. We were pleasantly surprised Рthe pizza was really really delicious! Funny though because both my mom and I took off the prosciutto which we joked was probably why the pizza was on the pricer end, haha.

 

TWO // Healthy snacking

Some say three solid meals a day, some say five to six small meals a day. I go back and forth, ranging from three to six meals, but the past few days, I’ve been snacking on some crackers. I’ve eaten Terra chips before, but these kale crackers!!!! They are soooo good. They have a lot of flavor and are great to go with hummus. My mom and I finished the entire container that afternoon we bought them from the grocery store, haha (although to be fair, there weren’t a lot of crackers to begin with).

 

THREE// The salad bar at my dad’s workplace

IMG_5970

I’ve definitely ranted about this before in previous blog posts and in my Instagram stories (follow us at @avolicious_blog), but my dad’s office has THE BEST salad bar. Like seriously… ¬†Today, I brought an avocado from home since the one thing that the salad bar doesn’t have is avocado, which is understandable (that’s called dedication haha). But otherwise, everything is from this insane salad bar. I have arugula as the base, quinoa, barley, roasted butternut squash, pesto cream chicken, hard boiled egg, tomatoes, and sunflower seeds drizzled with olive oil. <insert face with heart eyes emoji here>

FOUR// Dinner’s at home

Nothing beats mom’s cooking! My mom makes THE BEST japchae (a Korean noodle dish). She made it the first night back (she knows me and my tastebuds too well haha). And also, despite being allergic to crabs and lobsters, tonight we had crab cakes for dinner. Argh…so good! She also got lots and lots of grapefruit for me from Costco (grapefruits are my favorite winter fruit). So yeah…I’m just in tastebud heaven right now.

 

FIVE// Lots and lots of avocado toast

IMG_5985.JPG

What did you expect? Of course, I’m chowing down on my avocado toasts! I think I’ve had one at least once every day I’ve come back home. I mean look at that color! Together with the chia seed (and sometimes smoked salmon if we have it in the house) and perfectly toasted bread, ugh it’s a feast for the stomach!

What are your latest obsessions?

xoxo,

Stephanie

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Lately Obsessed #5

  1. Everthing looks delicious! My husband & I love root vegetable chips. I read your recent post about how you’ve struggled with appearance & such while most people make light of it. Keep staying positive & sharing your fun foods & thoughts. You are doing a wonderful job caring for yourself. Remember this on your tougher days. XO, Kori

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww Kori, thanks for the sweet message! I sometimes pause or stop myself when I still have struggles with my appearance and thus my relationship with food but at the same time I’m a food blogger. How can I be both when they conflict with each other I ask? But I realize that many food bloggers out here have experienced this body image struggle or at least have had someone close who went through that struggle. I continue to make my blog as approachable and relevant as it can be – to be truthful and honest, that I’m not 100% perfect with my eating or exercise. Thanks for stopping by and the sweet comment! Xo, Steph

      Like

    1. I’ve never tried the good seed hummus ones! Might need to run to the store (for the second time this week haha). I definitely need to watch out when I’m eating those crackers since they disappear in a matter of minutes! And yep! Avocado toast is always a must for me. Thanks for stopping by! xo, Steph

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

